fbpx
 

Braille script: a gateway to the world

Braille script: a gateway to the world

2012: Agnes is blind and goes to school with sighted peers.

Kilosa, Tanzania – Agnes is 9 years old and a very timid girl. She’s blind from laucoma. Increased pressure in both eyes has damaged her optic nerves, causing her field of vision to disappear completely.

Agnes attends the Mazinyungu school in Kilosa, in the province of Morogoro.  It is a ‘regular’ school with about four hundred sighted pupils. There is also a boarding department where about 70 blind and partially sighted children stay during the school year. During the first two years of school, children with visual problems attend classes in small groups to master some specific skills. Specialized teachers teach them to read and write Braille, as well as “mobility and orientation”, including the use of a white stick to get to know the school environment well, … They also get familiarised with a series of daily activities, such as washing their clothes, so that they can later on live an autonomous life.

Learning how to write with a stylus

After those two preparatory years, all groups merge and the blind and partially sighted students attend lessons with their sighted peers. Agnes is now in her second year of preparation. To alphabetize children like Agnes who are completely blind, Braille is the only means of mastering script. Braille is a relief alphabet: a system of dots through which letters, numbers and symbols can be read with the fingers. In many developing countries such as Tanzania, students still learn to write Braille by poking the dots in the paper using a slate and a stylus.

One of Agnes’ teachers is very proud of the girl: “She learns very quickly and gets good marks. Learning Braille takes a lot of practice. Recognizing letters is not that difficult, but reading entire words requires a lot of effort in the beginning. How smoothly this goes also depends on the sensitivity of the fingertips. Agnes is doing very well and making great progress. You can also see that she clearly enjoys school life. ”

Braille script has opened a whole new world for the girl. She now has the competence to acquire, process and use information in a targeted manner. Literacy is the key to personal development, good education, employment, integration and participation in society.

Dieter Telemans

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photo: Dieter Telemans. Agnes learns to write in Braille on her slate: from right to left, by “pricking” the paper with a stylus. Then, she needs to flip the page in order to read the dots with her fingertips.

 

 

 

 

 

Agnes at the boarding school, in the room she shares with three other pupils with visual impairment. She shows us that she is perfectly able to wash her clothes herself.

2018: Agnes blossoms completely.

Kilosa, Tanzania – Agnes is now 14 years old and in the seventh and final year of primary school. The girl blossoms completely. She talks to her friends for hours. Some are blind like herself, others see perfectly. Meanwhile she has been given responsibilities in the boarding school: “I take care of four little girls. I help them get dressed, take care of them and mother them a bit so that they feel at home here. I still remember how difficult it was for me at school in the first weeks. ”

The teen still likes to go to class. English, Geography and Swahili are her favorite subjects. . “Later I would like to become a teacher for students who, like me, have problems with their eyes,” she says with conviction.

Agnes is an exceptionally good student at Mazinyungu school but she has also developed interests outside of class: “I really like to sing and we often do that together in the evening with the friends from the boarding school. We also dance a lot together. ” In addition, the girl is also a talented goalball player. Goalball is a ball game developed for people with a visual impairment. Light for the World installed a goalball field in the Mazinyungu school in 2016 that is clearly in use frequently. The school has some star players, including Agnes, who have already beaten several other teams.

Photos: Raymond Kasoga.
Lien, employee of Light for the World and Agnes have known each other since 2012.
“Agnes has grown from a scared little girl to a young confident teenager. She clearly knows what she wants in the future. Wonderful to see that evolution. ”

 

 

 

 

 

2020: Agnes passed the national exams with flying colors and will start secondary education in the Lugalo secondary school, in the Iringa region, in January. Good luck Agnes!

 

Do you want to help more children like Agnes go back to school? Make a donation.

Le braille : une porte ouverte sur le monde

Le braille : une porte ouverte sur le monde

2012 : Agnès est aveugle et se rend à l’école avec des enfants voyants de son âge.
Kilosa, Tanzanie – Agnès est une petite fille timide de 9 ans. Elle est aveugle à cause d’un glaucome. Une pression intraoculaire trop élevée dans ses deux yeux a endommagé ses nerfs optiques et l’a rendue aveugle.

Agnès est scolarisée à l’école Mazinyungu à Kilosa, dans la province de Morogoro. Il s’agit d’une école ‘régulière’ qui compte quelques quatre cents élèves voyants. Elle comporte également un internat qui accueille environ 70 élèves aveugles et malvoyants pendant l’année scolaire. Durant les deux premières années, les élèves atteints de déficience visuelle suivent les cours en petits groupes parce qu’ils doivent apprendre à perfectionner une série d’aptitudes spécifiques. Des enseignants spécialisés leur apprennent à lire et écrire en braille, leur donnent une formation en « mobilité et orientation », notamment sur l’utilisation de la canne blanche pour se déplacer dans l’espace de l’école,… Ils se familiarisent aussi avec une série d’activités journalières, comme laver leurs vêtements, afin de pouvoir vivre une vie autonome plus tard.

Apprendre à écrire avec un poinçon

Après ces deux années préparatoires, les groupes fusionnent et les élèves aveugles et malvoyants suivent les cours avec des élèves voyants de leur âge. Agnès est en deuxième année préparatoire. Pour des enfants complètement aveugles comme Agnès, l’alphabétisation passe par l’apprentissage du braille, qui est l’unique outil leur permettant de maîtriser l’écriture. Le braille est un système d’écriture tactile à points saillants : des lettres, chiffres et symboles que les élèves lisent avec les doigts. Dans de nombreux pays en développement comme la Tanzanie, les élèves apprennent encore à écrire en braille en utilisant une tablette qu’ils « piquent » avec un poinçon pour former des points.

L’un des professeurs d’Agnès est très fier de la fillette : « Elle apprend vite et obtient de bons résultats. Apprendre le braille requiert beaucoup de pratique. Identifier les lettres est relativement facile mais, au début, lire des mots entiers demande beaucoup d’efforts. La sensibilité du bout des doigts joue aussi un rôle. Agnès se débrouille très bien et fait de grands progrès. Visiblement, elle aime beaucoup la vie scolaire. »

Écrire en braille a ouvert de nouveaux horizons à la fillette. Elle possède maintenant les compétences nécessaires pour chercher des informations, les traiter et les utiliser de manière ciblée. L’alphabétisation est la clé du développement personnel, d’une bonne formation, d’un emploi, de l’intégration et de la participation à la vie de la communauté.

Dieter Telemans

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photo : Dieter Telemans. Agnès apprend à écrire en alphabet braille sur sa tablette : de droite à gauche, en « piquant » le papier avec un poinçon. Ensuite, il faut retourner la feuille pour lire les points avec les doigts.

 

 

 

 

 

Agnès à l’internat, dans la chambre qu’elle partage avec trois autres élèves atteints de déficience visuelle. Elle nous montre qu’elle est parfaitement capable de laver ses vêtements.

2018 : Agnès s’est complètement épanouie  

Kilosa, Tanzanie – Agnès a 14 ans et est en septième et dernière année d’école primaire. La fillette apparaît sans aucun doute épanouie. Elle traverse le terrain de l’école d’un pas assuré et discute à bâtons rompus avec ses amies. Certaines sont aveugles comme elle, d’autres n’ont aucun problème de vue.
Entre-temps, elle a acquis des responsabilités à l’internat : « Je m’occupe de quatre petites filles. Je les aide à s’habiller, à prendre soin d’elles-mêmes, je les choie un peu pour qu’elles se sentent chez elles ici. Je me souviens combien les premières semaines à l’école étaient difficiles. »

L’adolescente aime toujours suivre les cours. L’anglais, la géographie et le swahili sont ses matières préférées. « Je voudrais devenir enseignante pour les enfants qui, comme moi, ont des problèmes oculaires », raconte-t-elle avec conviction.

Agnès est une élève d’exception à l’école Mazinyungu, mais elle a encore d’autres centres d’intérêt : « J’aime beaucoup chanter et, avec mes amies de l’internat, nous chantons et dansons souvent le soir. » Elle est aussi une joueuse accomplie de « goalball ». Il s’agit un jeu spécifiquement développé pour les personnes avec déficience visuelle. Lumière pour le Monde a aménagé un terrain de goalball à l’école Mazinyungu en 2016 que les élèves utilisent bien sûr régulièrement. L’école a quelques joueurs de talent, parmi lesquels Agnès, et son équipe a déjà battu plusieurs autres équipes.

Photos : Raymond Kasoga.
Lien, collaboratrice de Lumière pour le Monde et Agnès se connaissent depuis 2012.
« La petite fille timide et craintive est devenue une adolescente sûre d’elle-même. Elle sait clairement ce qu’elle veut faire de son avenir. Son évolution fait chaud au cœur. »

 

 

 

 

 

2020 : Agnès a passé les examens nationaux avec brio et poursuivra sa scolarité en janvier à l’école secondaire de Lugalo, dans la région d’Iringa. Bon courage, Agnès !